iOS

Google Maps for iOS just made your commute easier

One-tap access to useful commute info. Photo: Google Google today rolled out a new Maps update for iOS that makes accessing commute information easier than ever. A new one-tap access bar at the bottom of the app lets you quickly view nearby restaurants and hotels, real-time traffic data, and transit information. “Whether we like it …

Flipboard CEO knocks Apple News for closed ecosystem, says product is ‘living in the past’

  By Mikey Campbell Tuesday, February 13, 2018, 06:50 pm PT (09:50 pm ET)embroidery digitizing Flipboard CEO Mike McCue had a few choice words for segment competitor Apple News, describing Apple’s news service as “living in the past” because it does not curate media, offers no social sharing integrations and lacks other features that would …

Apple's shift in iOS development pace about evolving scale, not coping with bugs, says former Windows chief

  By Roger Fingas Tuesday, February 13, 2018, 07:32 am PT (10:32 am ET) Apple’s “cultural shift” towards spacing out new features in iOS is more a natural function of development scale, and not really the revolution some people might perceive it to be, according to a noted former Microsoft Windows president. iOS “dark mode” …